Financial Peace

Financial Peace: Restoring Financial Hope to You and Your FamilyFinancial Peace: Restoring Financial Hope to You and Your Family by Dave Ramsey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

First point – This book was a little outdated to be of much use. I was hoping to get into the envelope system more, but I think I’ll have to look elsewhere for that information. At this point in my life (single, just enough to pay necessities, student) I’m not seeing how I can squeeze anymore out and save for anything. I don’t really agree with his “no credit cards” stance because having credit cards can get you great deals with cash back and extra savings if paid off every month. Overall, I think I want to read some current information from Dave.

My second point – the reviews on this book are either LOVE or HATE. As I was reading I found it important to live your life by certain principles to even make this a viable option. As a single woman with no children I was reminded of values that I hold in high regards. One, choose who I marry wisely. If he can’t handle money beforehand, he wont be able to handle it after we are married either. This goes for me too. I need to learn these principles now. Two, and this has been my motto for years, don’t have children I can’t pay for, and with men that wont pay for them. This will set me up for financial failure. I think this is where some of the hate comes from with this book.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment